Penn SS Series

Started by Shark Hunter, October 04, 2014, 07:56:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fIsHsTiiCkS

Quote from: Shark Hunter on November 12, 2014, 05:03:31 AM
Brass or bronze gears for sure. They are usually standard with a 750. You can always cut the drags Hexagon shaped too like Sal shows. A power handle to top it off and you'll be set.
The weak link in the Handle pivot. There might be some ss replacements for that.

I saw what sal did looking good! What drag pressures are good for this reel? I just don't want to over do it. You know where I might find the ss pivot replacements?

Thanks for everything sharkhunter

Shark Hunter

They are just an idea for now. If we have enough takers. Adam might make these for us.
Penn realized the problem with the weak pivot and improved them on the 7500 and 8500 series.
I am fairly new to rebuilding these and am learning as I go along. If any of you have anything to add. please feel free to do so. There are a lot of gents that have been fishing these a lot longer than me.
Sal, Wallace, Bob, Keith and Justin to name a few would be better qualified to give you a maximum drag figure.
Life is Good!

fIsHsTiiCkS

Quote from: Shark Hunter on November 12, 2014, 05:27:05 AM
They are just an idea for now. If we have enough takers. Adam might make these for us.
Penn realized the problem with the weak pivot and improved them on the 7500 and 8500 series.
I am fairly new to rebuilding these and am learning as I go along. If any of you have anything to add. please feel free to do so. There are a lot of gents that have been fishing these a lot longer than me.
Sal, Wallace, Bob, Keith and Justin to name a few would be better qualified to give you a maximum drag figure.

Thanks for the info! I really look forward to messing around with this reel!

wallacewt

ill leave this to sal
me personally i wont fish a 750 over 15lb max

basto