Full servicing/cleaning/rebuild of my 9/0

Started by biggiesmalls, November 28, 2016, 01:25:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

biggiesmalls

Greetings!

My name is Drew, and I am currently working on my 9/0 senator. I purchased it used on eBay (with a full roller rod) in July, and I have used it twice so far (without catching anything, albeit) for land based shark fishing and it works good, but not great. So, I am going to be working on it over the next few weeks to make this thing look and work better than new.

I took apart the entire reel last night. All of the internals appear to be pretty well, nothing on the inside is rusted or corroded - I'm no expert, but I do know that's good. The drag washers are the stock ones, I plan on doing a carbon fiber upgrade (as well as on my other three conventional reels). Other than that, I think I'm going to try and remove the rust/corrosion from the hardware parts of it, if it doesn't work I will just buy all new ones from Scott's Bait and Tackle online. One of the screws that holds the little back harness in place (that the wing nut goes on) is bent, so I will probably replace that one - sounds like a lot of work to bend it, that's not necessary. If I replace it, then for aesthetics I will probably replace all external metal pieces with newer ones.

So I came here for a little bit of help. I would like some reassurance along the way, just to make sure I'm doing everything right. I would also like some recommendations - other than carbon fiber drag washers, are there any other good upgrades that would be worth my time, or no? After all that's done I am going to grease everything up again as well.

Thank you all for your help  :)

Shark Hunter

Welcome Drew,
Look through the senator section for upgrading tips. You can sink a lot of money into one of these.
I would say the best two upgrades for this reel is a power handle and a stainless sleeve.