Versa Drag System ?

Started by Mic, February 03, 2021, 01:10:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

alantani

Quote from: jurelometer on February 04, 2021, 06:08:20 AM
so why not choose more useful?

exactly.  why not choose more drag surface area?
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Tiddlerbasher

Which is exactly what versa drag does - more surface area for a given stack height.

Mic

Quote from: Tiddlerbasher on February 04, 2021, 11:32:49 AM
Which is exactly what versa drag does - more surface area for a given stack height.

But is it more surface area for a given drag stack height if the two different surface areas are not in contact when suppressed ?

You know, I'm just learning here, but wouldn't it be a better drag system with different grades of CF washers and different thicknesses of eared/keyed washer of a different material ?

Do CF washers come in veering degrees like sand paper ? 80, 100, 200, 600 and so on ?

Steel, SS, copper, aluminum, brass all have a natural negative reaction to moisture and air, and all at different degrees of corrosion or tarnishing. all have different degrees of hardness as well. Has anyone manufacture ever applied an electro magnet drag system ? Be the first reel in history that needed a battery !

But it all boils down to the coefficient of resistance (drag) against said surface areas when force is applied. Is more drag or drag options better when your only options are drag on, drag off ?

oldmanjoe

This is my version of " versa drag "      I can mix and match  4 different frictions material .
 I can put as many as 8 steel and 8 frictions or less by changing my drag nut ,   3  different hat lengths.
The base friction can be change "under spool" and i can change the diameter of the base friction.

There is a lot of things in that article i  disagree with , but i wish i had that test equipment .

Grandpa`s words of wisdom......Joey that thing between your shoulders is not a hat rack.....    use it.....