Custom handle knob for my Tank

Started by Mandelstam, August 26, 2013, 06:02:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shark Hunter

I agree that some things can be created from this material that was not intended for their original use as countertops. I think making plates is a great idea! Like I said. I can get samples of this stuff in any thickness. 1/8", 1/4" and 1/2". Corian is our competition. That really doesn't mean anything to me. I just know we make some really cool colors of it. A lot more than Corian. If anyone is up to the task. I can provide free samples for side plate tooling.
Karl, I got some of the hardened tubes today and they were full of bubbles. The problem you run into when trying to pour into a mold. It is designed to be poured into a machine that creates an airtight seal with some serious hydraulic pressure to come out at the correct thickness and bubble free.
I don't mean to ramble on, but I have been doing this for 25 years and I know the process. the liquid is formulated to run through the machine at a specific speed at a specific temperature. usually around 180 degrees. When the chemical reaction takes place, the acrylic gets much hotter than that and a constant flow of 180 degree water actually keeps it from getting too hot. It heats up slowly and cools slowly before exiting the 700 foot long casting machine. It is constructed of two 112" wide stainless steel belts.
Life is Good!

Mandelstam

Quote from: Shark Hunter on September 06, 2013, 04:46:13 AM
Karl, I got some of the hardened tubes today and they were full of bubbles. The problem you run into when trying to pour into a mold. It is designed to be poured into a machine that creates an airtight seal with some serious hydraulic pressure to come out at the correct thickness and bubble free.