GETTING STARTED WITH BRAID

Started by LTM, February 14, 2014, 04:16:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LTM

Hey Folks,

After years of upgrading my reels Im finally nearing adding braid to my reels. I recogonize this to be a costly endeavor so I will spool up with braid gradually. This will be a learning process for me as well for only a few of my reels have braid on them and only one of those is spooled correctly by accident.

How Ive planned to spool my reels is follow suit as the long range guys do. That is to use solid core braid as my base, connected to hollow core to join the solid braid via hollow to my top shots. This method appeals to me on a couple of levels. First and foremost is economy, and then simplicity of loop 2 loop (L2L) connections. If anyone notices errors/flaws with my procedure please comment for Im new at this. Also, whatever termonology/slang you decide to use please remember that I am not versed so please include some explination from TIME TO TIME. Im not asking that you explain every term just be considerate of my lack of knowledge at the moment.

So,for the first braid weight I plan to utilize the solid > hollow > top shot process with is 40# solid > 60# hollow > top shot. Is this practical AND possible? From what Ive read so far I understand their is a practical limit of how small of line 60# hollow will hold effectively, is 40# solid too small to be held securely by 60# hollow? I also plan to use top shots from 12#-50# with the 60# hollow if possible?

My second question of the moment is; using the same solid > hollow > top shot process. Will 100# hollow SECURELY hold 100# solid braid and 100# mono top shot? Or will I need to bump the hollow braid up to 120# to securely hold the 100# solid braid and 100# topshot?

Lastly, what type of tools does one use to connect the l2l connections? I understand there are several types of needles with pro's and cons to their usage.

Thanx in advance for your assistance,

Leo

Keta